“I’m not good enough”

The grass was bright green and birds were singing as I left my violin teacher’s house. It was a beautiful spring day.

But I didn’t notice it. All I could think about was the lesson that I had just finished. It had been terrible, and it was all my fault. The week before, my teacher had given me some songs to practice but I had played other songs instead of what I was supposed to do. She gave me some much needed correction. Somehow my teacher’s well-meaning correction, I translated into this phrase: “I was not good enough.” As I pushed back the sliding glass door to exit my teacher’s house, those words echoed and reechoed down my soul.

The day went on, and I sort of forgot about “not being good enough.” But from that day on, every time that I did not perform well, disappointed someone or was disappointed, that phrase would resurface and play over and over again in my mind. Just yesterday, after coming back from a new job, this phrase resurfaced, plunging me into doubt and fear.

This morning, God brought a verse to my attention.

Psalms 73:25 Whom have I in heaven but thee? And there is none upon earth that I desire beside thee.

That’s when I got it. God doesn’t want me to focus on being good enough; in fact, in my own ability, I can never be good enough. I can’t expect others to be good enough, for they will always let me down. For the truth is: only YHWH is enough.

Then God pointed out that often in life, I think that:

God + friends = enough

God + solid family = enough

God + a finished to-do list = enough

But really all that I need is: God = enough

I saw that I have been believing a lie; looking for something else + God to be enough for all my needs. It’s like I have been trying to solve an algebra problem by adding additional value to the answer. God is enough for ALL of my needs.

The following verses confirm this truth:

Psalms 16:5 The LORD is the portion of mine inheritance and of my cup: thou maintainest my lot.

Psalms 16:11 Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

Psalms 142:5 I cried unto thee, O LORD: I said, Thou art my refuge and my portion in the land of the living.

Philippians 3:8 Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord: for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ,

May you go about your day, blessed and encouraged in the knowledge that God is enough for Your every need. Hallelujah! YHWH has and is able to do it ALL for you and me.

102_3041

Leave a Reply

