Striving for Holiness

God, help me! I don’t know how to pursue holiness… This thought flashed across my mind, after I had fallen back to an old habit that God had convicted me of.

But this time, I felt the need for input from other godly sisters in Christ, and on one of my favorite blogs, I came across this blogpost and loved how the author shared her Bible study on holiness!

Basically, the world we live in minimizes sin. It spends time and energy coming up with ways to go around sin or redefine it, so that it doesn’t “appear” to be sin. But sin will always remain sin in God’s eyes. 

I know that holiness is something God asks of me…. In Leviticus 12:45, God calls His people to “ye shall be therefore be holy, for I am holy.” 

So after I have missed the mark and falling into a besetting sin, how can I go back to pursue holiness?

I love how simply womenlivingwell put it, so I just copied it from their post: 

1.) Take our sin seriously and call sin – sin.

2.) Confess our sin to God and to others.

3.) Strive to do what is right in God’s eyes and obey His word.

4.) Say “no” to ungodliness and worldly passions.

5.) Pursue holiness over happiness.

“For the grace of God has appeared, bringing salvation for all people, training us to renounce ungodliness and worldly passions, and to live self-controlled, upright, and godly lives in the present age.”

~Titus 2:11 & 12

http://womenlivingwell.org/2015/05/5-ways-to-pursue-holiness-in-a-world-that-minimizes-sin/

May YHWH help you pursue holiness in ALL areas of life. It definitely is not easy or popular. But the reward is absolutely worth it: knowing the Lover of my Soul more!!!

Disclaimer: I don’t believe that the law is done away with, as this blogger points out; otherwise, it is an excellent post that you should read!

holy

 

 

One thought on “Striving for Holiness

  1. Thank you so much for sharing! This is so true, especially in our Christian walks… We are ashamed to call sin what it is-sin. We are ashamed of how even we make mistakes…
    Yet, in an essence, when we are too ashamed to even admit our sin; we are, as Christians, ashamed of what Christ has done for us!
    But if we confess our sins to one another, He will forgive us of our sin!
    Thank you Elisa, for sharing this truth!

    Aubrey

    Like

Leave a Reply

